Posted by: andrewrainey | March 20, 2020

Thoughts From a Father and a Pastor…

I’m just a pastor and these are simply my thoughts during this unprecedented and uncertain time.

God has blessed me with the opportunity to serve as a Lead Pastor of a small church in Blue Ash, Ohio. We are lucky enough to have staff, a building we lease and people that seem to love the church God has allowed me to lead. We truly have a church full of fantastic people and I’m so honored to be their pastor.

It’s been the better part of a week since life as we knew it truly began to change. It started with the schools closing for 3 weeks and asking students to do work at home and it came with ordnance of no meetings of more than 100 people. Churches were exempt from this, but we decided to do our part and protect people and moved church online for those 3 weeks as well.

As you know, things continue to change as the days pass and it looks like 3 weeks will not be sufficient for schools or churches. We are working hard to adjust to these times as a family (of 6) as well as a church. Our goal is not only to provide hope and point people to Jesus during this time in creative ways but also how we can love and serve our church and our community.

I love the early adaptions we have made and the things we have coming up, but I also know this is uncharted territory for all of us. As the leader, with a great team of people, we are prayerfully working on how to make the best decisions with the information we have. But that doesn’t just apply to us, that applies to everyone.

As I’ve watched and observed I’m noticing a disturbing trend. One I know likely isn’t intended but is happening none the less. I understand some people have more information than others, but regardless of the information, we are all trying to make the best decision with the information we have.

We have a daughter who has asthma, so our approach is likely more on the conservative side than others, but as a pastor, I know God has called me to love and serve. I’m still venturing out, not carelessly, but lovingly. I’m not looking for “atta boys,” but I know there isn’t a better opportunity to tell, and more importantly show, people how I (as a follower of Jesus) can be the hands and feet of Jesus.

Quick sidebar… This isn’t a blanket statement. This is a prayerful statement. If you are a follower of Jesus, you need to be wise and pray and ask Jesus what He would have you do. I’m not saying all followers of Jesus should be venturing out.

Here are my thoughts and the real reason for this longer than expected blog post…

Now, more than ever, I feel the weight of responsibility. I know this isn’t my church, but God’s church. I also know that God has, for whatever reason, put me as the head shepherd of His church in Blue Ash that I’m honored to lead. My job is to work hand in hand with Jesus in what He wants us to be and do. I feel like that is not only important for you to hear, but to truly know.

However, there is the undeniable flesh piece of all of it. I am a broken man, that by the grace and mercy of God, has saved me. In my flesh, I find myself in constant thought and prayer about how to best lead.

Here is what I mean… How can we best express and show love to the people that call our church home? How can we also express and show love to our community? How can we come alongside our community leaders and support them? How can we come along other churches to be one church instead of individual churches? How can I best use my time in the ever-changing “new normal?” How do I best leverage the staff God has given us during this time? How can I lead my family well during this? How can I model my steadfast faith in Jesus in a way that is authentic, vulnerable and honest? How do I share my worries and fears as they come up? How do we balance wisdom in protecting our families and faith in putting ourselves in harm’s way to love and serve others?

These are just a few of my thoughts… And when I slow down long enough to think of our first responders, grocery employees, truck drivers, delivery drivers, factory workers, small business owners, nurses, doctors, those working the front desk of every ER, and doctors office, other spiritual leaders, government officials, those working tirelessly to find a cure and so many more I haven’t even mentioned. Well, I find comfort that they too are doing the best they can with the information they have.

The reality is this will have an impact well beyond what we know today. There will be many small businesses that financially do not make it to the other side of this. Additionally, there will be many small churches that will fall into that same category. As a small church ourselves, we aren’t exempt from that possibility. The weight of that on the leaders of small businesses and churches isn’t something you can explain, it’s something you have to live to understand.

As a pastor, at least for me, I swing back and forth to thinking it’s all up to me and back to the other side of God isn’t surprised and is in control. Often times I live right smack dap in the middle.

But here is my point in all of this, if you are still reading…

All of us are dealing with something. All of us have stresses that have or will surface. None of us know exactly what it is like to walk in their shoes, we only know what our shoes feel like. Just yesterday I was at the post office and a young lady (yes I am now old enough to refer to someone as a young lady) was returning something because her husband just lost her job. She went on to say that she is returning everything they bought for their vacation they had to cancel, their first one in 20 years of marriage. It broke my heart. There is nothing to say to that other than “I’m sorry.”

Look I know we are all dealing with something and it isn’t about if what I am dealing with is “more important” than what you are. God doesn’t look at our challenges and concerns that way. He loves us all and gives us all attention. He never puts us in a line of an order of “importance.”

So that gives us a choice to make. Nobody is exempt from this choice, but sadly the trend I’m seeing (as I referenced at the beginning) isn’t’ a choice I hope you make after reading this. But in order to make this choice we have to understand that we are all in this thing together.

This choice may not be what you think either. This blog isn’t about staying home, although I do believe it is one of the most caring, loving, selfless things you can do. This choice is even more practical. It’s treating people with grace and love.

I know your frustrated because there are some people who are hoarding basic things we all need. I know these seemingly daily ordinances have impacted your family in ways I don’t understand. I know you had to cancel your travel plans (us too!). I know the future is uncertain. I know you didn’t sign up to homeschool your kids. I know I haven’t listed all the things to be frustrated about…

But what I also know is, everybody is facing today the best way they know-how.  I know we can all decide right now, to treat every person with love and grace. I know we can read a comment on social media we do not agree with and choose not to say anything. I know instead of complaining about the latest update from the Governor taking up too much time, we can choose to be grateful that we have the ability to have a real-time update.

And when someone has a cart full of toilet paper instead of judging them, making a passive-aggressive comment or confronting them, we can choose to think “I wonder what organization they are donating that too.”

Your behavior doesn’t dictate how I treat you. I do not deserve God’s love and yet He gives it to me, outlandishly.  It’s remarkable. No matter how many times I mess up, He continues to pour out His mercy, grace and unmerited love.

If you don’t have what you need, ask for it. Most people are willing to help, most people want to help. You’d probably help someone who needed it right? Then don’t take the blessing away from someone who wants to help you.

The point is… We can choose to treat people with love and grace. As a matter of fact, Jesus boiled it all down to two simple things. Love the Lord your God with all your heart, mind and soul and love your neighbor (which is everyone) as yourself.

Seriously… Love your neighbor. And if you don’t know Jesus personally I’d love to introduce you to Him.

Loving you from afar,

Andy Rainey

P.S. If there is anything I might be able to do for you please let me know. If I can pray for you I’d be honored too as well (andy [at] blueashcc.com). 

 


Responses

  1. Thank you Andy for the wise and heartfelt thoughts. Even though we may be sheltered in place to some degree that does not mean we have to be isolated. A great time to intentionally love and give in some way.


Leave a comment

Categories